Key takeaways
- Buying takes five steps: choose a provider you can find on a public register, verify your identity, pay in pounds, place an order and decide where the Bitcoin is kept.
- Registered providers must check who you are, so have photo ID and proof of address ready. FCA rules add a cooling-off period of at least 24 hours for first-time customers.
- On CoinCorner the smallest purchase is £1. You pay by bank transfer, which carries no CoinCorner fee, or by debit card; credit cards are not accepted.
- Selling, swapping, spending or giving away Bitcoin can trigger Capital Gains Tax. The allowance is £3,000, and the online Self Assessment deadline for the 2025 to 2026 tax year is 31 January 2027.
- Most crypto activity sits outside the Financial Ombudsman Service and the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. Be prepared to lose all the money you put in.
Can you buy Bitcoin in the UK?
Yes. Adults in the UK can buy, hold and sell Bitcoin, and any firm that promotes it to UK consumers must follow the Financial Conduct Authority's financial promotion rules for cryptoassets, set out in policy statement PS23/6 (first published on 7 June 2023). Being allowed to buy is not the same as being protected: the FCA tells buyers to be prepared to lose all the money they invest.
The legal detail has a guide of its own, is Bitcoin legal in the UK and how it is regulated, and there are more Bitcoin guides in the learn hub.
What you need before you start
You need five things before you open an account. CoinCorner's own eligibility list covers the first four: over 18, valid ID, proof of address and an approved payment method.
- Your age. 18 or over.
- Photo ID. A current passport or driving licence is the usual choice.
- Proof of address. A recent bill or statement showing your name and address.
- A way to pay. A UK bank account or debit card in your own name.
- A phone. For two-factor authentication (2FA), the second code that protects your login.
Can you buy Bitcoin in the UK with no ID? Not from a registered provider: anti-money-laundering rules require registered firms to verify who their customers are. A service that offers to skip the check is a warning sign, not a shortcut.
Step 1: choose where to buy
Choose a provider you can find on a public register, because the entry tells you who you are dealing with and what oversight applies. The FCA says firms offering crypto products in the UK must be registered with it or have permission to promote them, and its Financial Services Register can be searched by firm name or reference number.
Exchanges, broker apps and Bitcoin-focused services
Three kinds of provider sell Bitcoin to UK customers, and they differ mainly in how the price is set.
- An exchange matches buyers with sellers on an order book, a live list of bids and offers, and usually charges a visible trading fee.
- A broker app sells to you at a price it quotes. Part of the cost often sits in the spread, the gap between its buy price and its sell price.
- A Bitcoin-focused service builds around one asset, for example with dedicated custody or Lightning payments (see how the Lightning Network makes small payments fast). CoinCorner, which has sold Bitcoin since 2014, belongs here.
What to check before you sign up
Run five checks before you hand over any documents.
- The register. Is the firm on a public register, and what does the entry mean? Registration for anti-money-laundering purposes is not regulation of how a firm treats customers, and the FCA points out that being registered does not mean you can use the ombudsman or the compensation scheme.
- Fees and spread. What does a £100 purchase cost in total, and what would you get back if you sold at once?
- Payment methods. Does the firm accept the way you want to pay, and does it charge for it?
- Withdrawals. Can you send Bitcoin out to a wallet you control, and at what cost?
- Support and complaints. How do you reach a person, and what is the complaints route?
Here is the first check applied to the company behind this guide. CoinCorner Ltd has been registered with the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority (register entry) as a designated business since . That means oversight for anti-money-laundering compliance only. CoinCorner is not regulated by the FCA, and the Financial Ombudsman Service and the Financial Services Compensation Scheme do not apply. The licences page shows how to read a firm's registration, and the about page explains who CoinCorner is.
Step 2: open an account and verify your identity
Opening an account means giving your details and proving who you are, because anti-money-laundering rules require registered firms to identify customers before they trade. In practice you photograph your ID, supply proof of address and sometimes record a short selfie to match your face to the document.
On CoinCorner you create an account and complete onboarding, which needs valid ID and proof of address. CoinCorner does not publish how long its check takes, so start it before the day you want to buy.
UK rules add more for first-time customers. Under the FCA's financial promotion rules (section 4.12A of its Conduct of Business Sourcebook, applied to cryptoassets by PS23/6), a firm marketing crypto to a UK consumer must let at least 24 hours pass after your first request, then ask whether you want to leave or continue. It must also give you a risk warning addressed to you by name and assess whether crypto is appropriate for you, which means questions about your knowledge and experience before an order is processed. Where those rules apply, your first purchase cannot happen on the day you sign up.
While you are in the settings, turn on two-factor authentication, which CoinCorner makes available on its accounts. A stolen password alone is then not enough to log in.
Step 3: pay in pounds by bank transfer or debit card
You fund the account in pounds before you buy, and the two usual methods are a bank transfer and a debit card. CoinCorner accepts both and does not accept credit cards.
Bank transfer
A bank transfer moves pounds from your own bank account to the payment details shown inside your new account. CoinCorner charges no fee for funding by bank transfer, which makes it the natural choice for larger or regular amounts. Copy any payment reference exactly, and send from an account in your own name.
Debit card
A debit card payment suits a small first purchase because there are no bank details to copy, but some providers charge a card fee. CoinCorner's main site does not state one, so check in your account before you pay.
Why credit cards and some banks say no
Buying a volatile asset with borrowed money means you can owe more than the Bitcoin is worth, so paying with money you already have is the better habit whatever a provider allows. Your bank may have a view as well: some UK banks cap or block payments to crypto firms, and the limits differ between banks and change over time, so read your own bank's policy first. The FAQ page answers whether you can pay by credit card or PayPal.
Step 4: place your first order
To place an order you enter an amount in pounds, read the quote and confirm. On CoinCorner you choose Exchange, enter the amount and confirm, and the smallest purchase is £1.
You do not have to buy a whole coin. One bitcoin equals 100,000,000 satoshis, the smallest unit the blockchain records, so any pound amount buys a fraction. At an illustrative price of £50,000 per bitcoin, used here only to show the sum, £1 would buy 2,000 satoshis before fees. The glossary explains what a satoshi is.
Before you confirm with any provider, look for three things: the price per bitcoin, any fee shown separately and the amount of Bitcoin you will receive. Save the confirmation: the date, the pounds paid and the Bitcoin received are the first line of your tax records.
Step 5: decide where to keep your Bitcoin
After you buy, the Bitcoin sits in your account with the provider until you move it, and you have three choices: leave it there, use multi-signature custody or withdraw it to your own wallet. The difference is who holds the private key, the secret that authorises spending the coins.
| Option | Who holds the keys | Cost | Main drawback |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leave it with the provider | The provider | No holding fee published by CoinCorner | You rely on the firm's security and solvency |
| Multi-signature custody (the CoinCorner Vault) | CoinCorner and AnchorWatch | 1.50% a year | An annual fee; insurance subject to policy terms |
| Your own wallet | You | A network fee to withdraw | A lost recovery phrase cannot be replaced |
No option removes risk; each one moves it. Multi-signature custody needs more than one key to move the coins, so no single key holder can act alone. The Vault's keys are held across multiple jurisdictions, its fee is billed monthly, and its insurance cover is subject to the policy's terms, limits and exclusions and typically starts on the first day of the month after your transfer. Holding your own keys ends the reliance on a firm, but nobody can replace a lost recovery phrase, the list of words that restores a wallet. The custody page shows how multi-signature Vault custody works.
Ready for a first purchase?
If you have the items on the checklist, you can buy Bitcoin with pounds on CoinCorner from £1 by bank transfer or debit card. Read the costs and the risks below first.
What it costs: the fees to check
Buying Bitcoin can involve five charges: a trading fee or spread, a payment fee, a withdrawal fee, a network fee and a custody fee. Some are published and others are built into the price, so the fair comparison is the total cost in pounds of the same purchase.
The spread is the charge most often missed. If a firm quotes a buy price of £50,500 and a sell price of £49,500 while the market price is £50,000, the spread is £1,000, or 2% of the market price, and you pay half of it on the way in. Those prices are invented to show the sum.
| Fee | What to ask | CoinCorner's published figure |
|---|---|---|
| Trading fee or spread | What does a £100 purchase cost in total? | To be confirmed |
| Paying pounds in | Is there a charge for a bank transfer or a card payment? | Bank transfer: no fee. Debit card: not stated |
| Receiving Bitcoin | Is there a charge when Bitcoin arrives from another wallet? | Free |
| Sending Bitcoin out | What do I pay to withdraw to my own wallet? | The network fee shown on the platform |
| Custody | Is there a charge for holding my Bitcoin? | Vault: 1.50% a year, billed monthly |
Last reviewed: . Figures read from coincorner.com on .
The network fee goes to the miners who add transactions to the blockchain. It is not fixed, and a higher fee tends to get a transaction confirmed faster when the network is busy. The fees page lists CoinCorner fees for buying and holding Bitcoin in one dated table.
Buying a little at a time: recurring buys
A recurring buy spends the same pound amount on Bitcoin at a fixed interval, an approach known as pound-cost averaging. On CoinCorner it runs on a standing order from your bank, which can be daily, weekly or monthly.
Because the pounds are fixed, each payment buys more Bitcoin when the price is lower and less when it is higher. The worked example uses four invented monthly prices to show the arithmetic. It is not a record of past prices and not a forecast.
| Month | Illustrative price per bitcoin | Pounds spent | Satoshis bought |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | £50,000 | £50 | 100,000 |
| 2 | £40,000 | £50 | 125,000 |
| 3 | £62,500 | £50 | 80,000 |
| 4 | £50,000 | £50 | 100,000 |
| Total | Average paid: about £49,383 | £200 | 405,000 |
In the example £200 buys 405,000 satoshis, or 0.00405 of a bitcoin, so the average purchase price is £200 divided by 0.00405: about £49,383 per bitcoin. That is lower than the simple average of the four prices, £50,625, only because a fixed sum buys more units in the cheaper months. Fees are left out.
The method does not protect you from loss. If the price sits below £49,383 when you sell, the holding is worth less than the £200 you paid, and a single £200 purchase in month two would have bought more, 500,000 satoshis. A schedule changes the timing of your purchases, not the risk of the asset.
Tax basics: Capital Gains Tax and record keeping
Buying Bitcoin with pounds is not on HM Revenue and Customs' list of taxable disposals; tax usually becomes a question when you dispose of Bitcoin at a gain. HMRC's guidance on selling cryptoassets, last updated on , says you may need to pay Capital Gains Tax when you dispose of tokens by:
- selling them
- exchanging them for a different type of cryptoasset
- using them to pay for goods or services
- giving them to another person, unless the gift is to your spouse, your civil partner or a charity
If your total gains for the tax year, which runs from 6 April to 5 April, are above the tax-free allowance, you must report the gain to HMRC and pay the tax. GOV.UK gives the Capital Gains Tax allowance, called the Annual Exempt Amount, as £3,000.
Working out the gain uses pooling: you group each type of token into a pool, track its total cost and deduct the matching share when you dispose of part of it. In HMRC's own example, 100 tokens bought for £200 and 300 more bought for £300 make a pool of 400 costing £500, or £1.25 each. Different rules apply to tokens you buy on the day you sell or within 30 days afterwards, and transaction fees count as an allowable cost.
HMRC expects a separate record of every transaction in each pool:
- the type of token
- the date you disposed of it
- the number of tokens disposed of and the number you have left
- the value of the tokens in pounds sterling
- bank statements
- the pooled cost before and after the disposal
Exchange reports help, but HMRC says they are not tax calculations and do not track pooled costs, so the record keeping is your job.
You report through a Self Assessment tax return or HMRC's real-time Capital Gains Tax service. For the tax year from 6 April 2025 to 5 April 2026, GOV.UK's Self Assessment deadlines say an online return must be submitted, and the tax paid, by 11:59pm on . The date for telling HMRC that you need to file for the first time, 5 October 2026, has passed; registering late changes the filing deadline but not the payment date.
This is not tax advice
This section summarises GOV.UK guidance as it stood on . Allowances and deadlines change, and other taxes can apply if you were paid in Bitcoin instead of buying it. Check the GOV.UK pages under Sources, or speak to a qualified tax adviser, before you file.
Risks and protections
You can lose all the money you put into Bitcoin, and most of the protections that come with regulated UK investments do not apply. Four risks matter most.
- Price. The FCA's consumer guide gives an example of how far the price can move: a peak of £93,947 on 6 October 2025 and £65,350 on 1 December 2025, a fall of 30.44% in under two months.
- Protection. The FCA says most crypto-related activity is not regulated in the UK, so you generally cannot take a complaint to the Financial Ombudsman Service and are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme if a firm fails. That applies to CoinCorner too. Pounds in a CoinCorner account are electronic money issued by Mercury Foreign Exchange Limited, which is authorised by the FCA under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN 900858): they are safeguarded in segregated accounts but not covered by the compensation scheme either.
- Scams. Reports to the FCA about crypto investment scams have more than doubled since 2020. The warning signs on the FCA page on crypto investment scams are contact out of the blue, pressure to invest quickly and returns that sound unrealistic.
- Irreversible transfers. A Bitcoin payment cannot be recalled the way a card payment can. Once the network confirms a transaction it is very unlikely ever to be reversed, so Bitcoin sent to the wrong address or to a fraudster is normally gone.
“there is no safety net if things go wrong”
Financial Conduct Authority, "Crypto: The basics", on crypto activity in the UK. Read on 11 October 2026.
The risk disclosure sets out the risks of buying Bitcoin in full, and the security page describes how CoinCorner holds customer Bitcoin.
Five mistakes first-time buyers make
Most first-purchase problems come from five avoidable mistakes.
- Skipping the register check. If you cannot find the firm on a public register, do not send it money or documents.
- Ignoring the spread. A headline of no fees says nothing about the gap between the buy price and the sell price. Compare the total cost of the same purchase.
- Sending to a mistyped address. Paste the address instead of typing it, check the first and last characters, and send a small test amount before a large one.
- Leaving 2FA off. Turn the second factor on before you add money, so a leaked password is not enough to get in.
- Keeping no records. Save every confirmation from the first purchase onwards. HMRC expects your own records, and rebuilding them years later is slow.
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum amount of Bitcoin I can buy in the UK?
There is no legal minimum: each provider sets its own, and on CoinCorner the smallest purchase is £1. You never need to buy a whole coin, because one bitcoin divides into 100,000,000 satoshis. Check the fees before placing very small orders, since a fixed charge takes a bigger share of a small purchase.
Do I need a wallet before I buy Bitcoin?
No. When you buy through a provider, the Bitcoin is held in your account with that provider straight after the purchase, so you can start without a wallet of your own. You can withdraw it to a wallet you control later, once you know how to back up a recovery phrase.
Can I buy Bitcoin in the UK without ID?
Not from a registered provider. Anti-money-laundering rules require registered firms to verify who their customers are, so expect to show photo ID and proof of address before your first purchase. Treat a service that offers to skip the check as a warning sign: you cannot look that firm up on any register.
How long does it take to buy Bitcoin?
Placing the order is the quick part; the wait is in the steps before it. You have to pass the identity check, and where the FCA rules for first-time customers apply there is a cooling-off period of at least 24 hours. After that, timing depends on how fast your payment arrives. CoinCorner does not publish typical times.
Do I pay tax when I buy Bitcoin?
Not at the point of purchase. Buying Bitcoin with pounds is not on the HMRC list of disposals, so it does not create a Capital Gains Tax bill by itself. Tax can arise later, when you sell, swap, spend or give away Bitcoin at a gain and your total gains for the tax year are above the £3,000 allowance. This is not tax advice.
Can I hold Bitcoin in an ISA?
No, you cannot put Bitcoin itself into an ISA, so Bitcoin bought through an exchange is held outside one. Exchange traded notes that track crypto prices are a different product with ISA rules of their own, and those rules have been changing. Check the current GOV.UK guidance on ISAs before relying on any summary.
Sources
Each page below was read on . Official pages change, so check the live version before you rely on a figure.
- HM Revenue and Customs, "Check if you need to pay tax when you sell cryptoassets" (last updated 5 October 2026): https://www.gov.uk/guidance/check-if-you-need-to-pay-tax-when-you-sell-cryptoassets
- GOV.UK, "Capital Gains Tax: allowances": https://www.gov.uk/capital-gains-tax/allowances
- GOV.UK, "Self Assessment tax returns: deadlines": https://www.gov.uk/self-assessment-tax-returns/deadlines
- Financial Conduct Authority, "PS23/6: Financial promotion rules for cryptoassets" (first published 7 June 2023): https://www.fca.org.uk/publications/policy-statements/ps23-6-financial-promotion-rules-cryptoassets
- Financial Conduct Authority Handbook, COBS 4.12A, "Promotion of restricted mass market investments": https://handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/cobs4/cobs4s17
- Financial Conduct Authority, "Crypto investment scams" (last updated 16 February 2026): https://www.fca.org.uk/consumers/crypto-investment-scams
- Financial Conduct Authority, "Crypto: The basics" (last updated 29 January 2026): https://www.fca.org.uk/investsmart/crypto-basics
- Bitcoin.org, "Some Bitcoin words you might hear" (vocabulary): https://bitcoin.org/en/vocabulary
Facts about CoinCorner (the £1 minimum, payment methods, fees, recurring buys and the Vault) come from CoinCorner's own product pages, read on . The registration details come from the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority register entry linked in step 1.
For information only. Not investment advice. Nothing in this guide is a recommendation to buy, sell or hold Bitcoin, and it does not take account of your circumstances.