About CoinCorner: legal entities, registrations and leadership
CoinCorner is the trading name of CoinCorner Ltd, an Isle of Man company (number 129003C) based in Douglas that has provided Bitcoin services since 2014 and has been on the Isle of Man FSA's register of designated businesses since 4 May 2016 (register entry). A separate Dubai company holds VARA licence VL/26/05/001 for the UAE, and pound and euro balances are e-money issued by Mercury Foreign Exchange Limited, an FCA-authorised firm (FRN 900858).
Don't invest unless you're prepared to lose all the money you invest. This is a high-risk investment and you should not expect to be protected if something goes wrong. Take 2 mins to learn more.
Legal entities and registrations
Four companies appear in CoinCorner's footers and terms. Each row gives the company number, the body that oversees the company, its status in that body's own words, and where you can check it yourself.
| Entity and jurisdiction | Company number | Regulator | Status in the regulator's wording | Number or reference | Date | Register | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CoinCorner Ltd Isle of Man. Operating company | 129003C | Isle of Man Financial Services Authority | Registered as a designated business (Lender; Virtual Asset Service Provider) | None shown on the register entry | Isle of Man FSA register entry at iomfsa.im | ||
| CoinCorner Ltd Isle of Man. Second registration | 129003C | Isle of Man Office of Fair Trading | Registered as a moneylender under the Moneylenders Act 1991 | Not shown on CoinCorner's site | Not stated | No register link found | Not checked on a register. Footer wording read on |
| Mercury Foreign Exchange Limited England and Wales. E-money issuer, not a CoinCorner company | 06445887 | Financial Conduct Authority | Authorised under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 for the issuing of electronic money and the provision of payment services | FRN 900858 | Not stated | FCA Register: search for 900858 | Not checked on the register. Footer wording read on |
| CoinCorner Virtual Assets Broker & Dealer Services L.L.C Dubai, UAE. Serves UAE residents | 1138242 | Virtual Assets Regulatory Authority (VARA) | Licensed for Broker-Dealer Services (VASP Licence); status Active | VL/26/05/001 | VARA public register entry at vara.ae | ||
| MtSocks Ltd Isle of Man. Wholly owned subsidiary | 133299C | None stated | Not applicable: no financial services registration is stated for this company | Not applicable | Not applicable | None | Company details read in CoinCorner's terms on |
Last reviewed: . The Isle of Man FSA and VARA register entries were opened on that date. Company numbers and footer wording were read on coincorner.com on .
CoinCorner Ltd is the operating company for the UK, the Isle of Man and the other markets listed on this page, and it distributes the e-money that Mercury Foreign Exchange Limited issues. The Dubai company is jointly owned by SEED MENA Businessmen Services L.L.C. and CoinCorner Ltd. MtSocks Ltd sells NFC devices and merchandise.
Mercury Foreign Exchange Limited's registered office is left out because CoinCorner's footer and its terms give two different London addresses. The full wording for every entity is on the page for registrations and regulatory status in full.
What these registrations do and do not cover
A line in a register tells you little until you know what the registration is for. This is what each status means for a customer in the UK or the Isle of Man.
Isle of Man designated business registration
CoinCorner Ltd is registered with the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority (register entry) as a designated business under the Designated Businesses (Registration and Oversight) Act 2015. Its two categories are Lender and Virtual Asset Service Provider.
The Authority oversees designated businesses for compliance with anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorist-financing rules only, and its guidance says the Act does not make them licence holders. This is not a licence, and it is not supervision of how Bitcoin is sold, priced or stored.
The register entry carries one condition: CoinCorner Ltd must at all times maintain at least two Isle of Man resident directors, and management and control of the virtual asset business must be in the Island.
“Designated businesses are registered and overseen by the Authority for AML/CFT compliance only.”
Isle of Man Financial Services Authority, designated business overview, read on 11 October 2026.
Not regulated by the FCA
CoinCorner and investments in cryptoassets are not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, are not covered by the Financial Ombudsman Service, and are not subject to protection under the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.
CoinCorner's Isle of Man terms go further. They say the virtual asset services and the fiat currency wallet are not regulated by the Isle of Man Financial Services Authority, the FCA or any other regulator, and that no ombudsman, compensation or guarantee scheme applies to them.
CoinCorner's careers page lists a vacancy for a UK Head of Compliance and MLRO whose work includes preparing the firm's application under the UK's cryptoasset authorisation regime. A planned application is not an authorisation. The guide to how UK and Isle of Man crypto regulation works explains the regime.
E-money safeguarding
Pound and euro balances are electronic money issued by Mercury Foreign Exchange Limited, which is authorised by the FCA under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN 900858). CoinCorner Ltd acts as its distributor under regulation 33 of those regulations, and the account and related payment services are provided by Mercury.
Funds are held in segregated accounts and safeguarded. Safeguarding is not the same as deposit protection: e-money is not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. The authorisation is Mercury's alone and does not extend to Bitcoin services.
Who we are
CoinCorner has helped people and businesses buy, sell, send, receive and store Bitcoin since 2014. The company is based in Douglas on the Isle of Man, and its customers are individuals, businesses, high net worth individuals, family offices and trusts.
For a person, that means buying Bitcoin with pounds by bank transfer or debit card. For a company, it means Bitcoin payments for businesses through CoinCorner Checkout. For anyone holding for years, it means the multi-signature Vault. The CoinCorner Bitcoin exchange home page sets the three side by side.
- 2014 first year of Bitcoin services CoinCorner home page, 6 October 2026
- Over 350,000 people use CoinCorner, by its own count CoinCorner home page, 6 October 2026
- Over 4,000 businesses signed up, by its own count CoinCorner business page, 6 October 2026
- 15 markets served, listed further down this page CoinCorner countries page, 6 October 2026
- 4 May 2016 date on the designated business register Isle of Man FSA register, 11 October 2026
Figures are CoinCorner's own unless a register is named. None has been independently audited.
Leadership and team
CoinCorner's website shows first names and social handles for its team, but no roles, biographies or headcount. A page like this one should name the people who answer for customers' money, so the four blocks below are placeholders for the company to complete.
Chief Executive
Name, photograph, dated biography and a link that verifies the appointment go here.
To be confirmed
Head of Compliance and MLRO
Name, photograph, dated biography and a link that verifies the appointment go here. CoinCorner's careers page listed a UK vacancy for this role on 6 October 2026.
To be confirmed
Head of Engineering
Name, photograph, dated biography and a link that verifies the appointment go here.
To be confirmed
Head of Customer Support
Name, photograph, dated biography and a link that verifies the appointment go here.
To be confirmed
Two facts are on record. The Isle of Man FSA register entry requires CoinCorner Ltd to keep at least two Isle of Man resident directors at all times, with management and control of the virtual asset business in the Island.
And according to the company's About page, team members post on X under CoinCorner handles and host the Britcoiners podcast. This page does not attach roles to those names, because the source does not.
Who owns CoinCorner?
CoinCorner is the trading name of CoinCorner Ltd. Its website does not name the company's shareholders, so this page does not either.
Two ownership facts are published in CoinCorner's terms. MtSocks Ltd is a wholly owned subsidiary, and the Dubai company is jointly owned by SEED MENA Businessmen Services L.L.C. and CoinCorner Ltd.
Where we operate
Offices
The registered office of CoinCorner Ltd is in Douglas, at the address shown here. CoinCorner's About page also names London and Dubai as locations, without street addresses.
The Dubai company's address is published in two versions, one in CoinCorner's UAE footer and one on the VARA register, so neither is printed. The contact page has the contact and office address details in one place.
18c Carrs Lane, Tromode
Douglas, Isle of Man
IM4 4RG
Registered office Company number 129003C. Read in the footer of coincorner.com on 6 October 2026.
Markets served
CoinCorner's countries page listed 15 markets on 6 October 2026: Alderney, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Curacao, El Salvador, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Mauritius, Monaco, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Virgin Islands (British).
Residents of the United Arab Emirates are served by the separate Dubai company, not by CoinCorner Ltd. This site is written for customers in the UK and the Isle of Man.
How CoinCorner makes money
CoinCorner makes money by charging for its services. It does not publish a breakdown of its income, so this table lists what it charges, not how much each line earns.
The fee or spread on buying and selling Bitcoin is not shown on the main site. It is marked for confirmation here, not estimated. See what CoinCorner charges for the full schedule.
One conflict to be open about: the guides on this site are published by a company that sells Bitcoin services. Where a guide mentions a CoinCorner product, it says so, and the editorial policy explains how guides are written and reviewed.
| Service | Charge | How it is charged |
|---|---|---|
| Checkout: accepting Bitcoin payments | 1% | On each payment taken |
| Vault custody | 1.50% a year | Billed monthly |
| Business eMoney account, Standard | £10 minimum | Each month, plus 25p per transaction |
| Business eMoney account, Enterprise | £100 minimum | Each month, plus 25p per transaction |
| Buying and selling Bitcoin | To be confirmed | Not shown on the main site |
Last reviewed: . Figures read on coincorner.com on .
Security and assurance
Four statements about security appear on CoinCorner's product pages. Each was read on 6 October 2026 and each is the company's own.
- Keys are held offline in cold storage, with multi-signature wallet infrastructure.
- Customer assets are backed 1:1 and always held in full reserve.
- In the Vault, keys are held by CoinCorner and by AnchorWatch across multiple jurisdictions. The Vault's insurance covers loss of keys and unauthorised access, is subject to policy terms, limits and exclusions, and typically starts on the first day of the month after a transfer.
- Two-factor authentication is available on customer accounts.
The security page sets out how customer Bitcoin is protected, claim by claim, with the source and date of each.
What is not published
No security certification, independent audit, penetration-test summary or proof-of-reserves report is published on CoinCorner's website.
Until one is, read the statements beside this box as the company's own description of itself, not as independently checked facts.
Timeline
Only dated events that can be traced to a named source are listed.
- 2014CoinCorner starts providing Bitcoin services.CoinCorner home page
- 4 May 2016CoinCorner Ltd is entered on the Isle of Man FSA register of designated businesses.Isle of Man FSA register
- 2022Partnership with Seed Group for the United Arab Emirates.CoinCorner UAE page
- 2024Candy Jets, a private jet charter company, starts accepting Bitcoin through CoinCorner Checkout.CoinCorner business page
- 5 May 2026VARA issues VASP Licence VL/26/05/001 for Broker-Dealer Services to the Dubai company.VARA public register
- 30 September 2026The Isle of Man terms of use are updated.CoinCorner terms of use
CoinCorner pages were read on 6 October 2026 and the two registers on 11 October 2026.
Press and recognition
CoinCorner's home page links to coverage by five outlets. The article links were not captured for this draft, so each line stays an unlinked placeholder until its headline, date and URL are added. Recognition is listed here only when a reader can follow a link to it.
- BBC
- Forbes
- Bloomberg
- The Independent
- City AM
Editorial standards, contact and complaints
Pages and guides on this site are written by the CoinCorner Research Team and reviewed by the Head of Compliance before publication.
Check the registers yourself
Every registration on this page links to the regulator's own register. The licences page sets out the full wording for each entity, with what it covers and what it does not.